Last Updated March 6, 2023
Twitter can be an excellent tool for networking, promoting your business, and connecting with friends. However, there may come a time when you want to delete your Twitter account because you’re not getting the results you want from Twitter. Whatever the reason, deleting your account is very easy to do! This article will walk you through the simple steps on how to delete your Twitter account!
Can You Delete Your Twitter Account Permanently?
Twitter can be a great way to connect with people and share your thoughts, but it can also be stressful for some. Quite recently, Elon Musk took over Twitter, which has sparked a debate about whether it’s possible to delete your account and, if so, how one would delete Twitter.
If you are looking for an answer, the short answer is yes; you can delete your Twitter account. If you're feeling overwhelmed or aren't pleased with the direction Twitter is likely to take and want to delete your account, don't worry – it's easy!
Save Your Twitter Data
If you decide to delete your Twitter account, know that you will lose all your Tweets and other associated data. So, before you delete your Twitter account, save any important information you would like to keep.
As long as you save your data before deleting your Twitter, you will be able to access it in the future if needed. If you have a business Twitter account, you should make sure to save any critical analytics or data related to the account, as this will not be able to be preserved through the deletion process.
The First Step To Deleting Your Account: Deactivate It
Before you can delete your account, Twitter requires account deactivation. You can complete this straightforward process with a few clicks or taps on the Twitter app. All you have to do is log in to your account and choose the More button on the left-hand menu.
Next, you'll want to tap Settings and Support, then Settings and Privacy. The menu will default to your Your Account menu, where you will see information about your profile, passwords, and email addresses.
You'll want to scroll down until you see the Deactivate Your Account option at the bottom of the list. Clicking on this will bring up a different menu, asking you to confirm that you want to deactivate your account.
Here Twitter provides some information that users should know before deactivating their accounts, such as that you will no longer be able to access your account or data. Once you have read and understood this information, click Deactivate. Next, enter your password and click Deactivate again, and you've completed account deactivation.
The Second Step To Deleting Your Account: Delete It
A deactivated account will remain that way for 30 days, the deactivation period. Anytime in the first 30 days, the “reactivation period,” you can remain active by logging in with your username and password. If you want to delete your account permanently, you must not log into your account for 30 days.
Twitter will automatically delete your account after 30 days; once it is deleted, the system will permanently remove all your data and information associated with the account. Data loss includes your profile photo, direct messages, account information, and old tweets. So, if you want to delete your account for good, don't log in during the grace period!
It's still possible for your data, like videos, tweets, and photos, to remain on Twitter even after you delete your account. Your account may also appear in Google search results, as Twitter doesn't have complete control over search engine crawlers.
Be Aware of Third-Party Apps
Even though you may have deactivated your account and you haven't physically logged in for 30 days, it's essential to be aware of any third-party access from integrated applications. If you use Twitter for business purposes and have connected any third-party apps to your Twitter, you should revoke third-party access and disconnect or delete all integrations.
By accessing third-party apps, they will utilize the integrations you set up and reactivate your Twitter account as long as it’s within 30 days. You must revoke their permission to ensure that third-party apps don't reactivate your account. Fortunately, unlinking third-party apps from your Twitter account is also easy.
To get started, log in to your Twitter account, go to Settings and Privacy, and click Security and Account Access.
Next, click on Apps and sessions, followed by Connected apps. Finally, you'll come to a menu with all the integrations currently linked to your Twitter profile.
To revoke access to each app, you'll have to click revoke app permissions individually. This will help ensure that no third-party apps can access your profile and reactivate it on their own.
Will We See a Trend of People Deleting Accounts with Elon Musk's Takeover?
Although some people may decide to delete their Twitter accounts with the new changes, there isn't any concrete evidence to suggest this will be widespread. Some people may likely delete their accounts, but it won't be an epidemic.
ABC News wrote an article about celebrities beginning to leave Twitter due to Elon Musk's takeover, citing that they are concerned about the new direction of the platform and that hate speech, bigotry, and disinformation will remain prevalent. It's up to each individual to decide whether or not they want to keep their Twitter account. However, if the platform doesn't reflect your values, it may be in your best interest to delete it.
Should Businesses Keep Their Twitter Accounts?
Since Elon Musk took over Twitter, many advertisers have stopped using the platform due to staffing cuts, changed policies, and fake accounts. GroupM, the world’s largest media buying agency, recently stated that Twitter had become a ‘high risk' following the recent controversies. This comes from Elon Musk's second week as the social network owner.
Twitter has been under fire due to its massive layoffs, including some top executives. Furthermore, reports show that the company's most active users have decreased significantly. With changes to its verification process and policies that may result in more hate speech being posted, Twitter seems like a greater reputational risk than an opportunity.
As a result, companies are beginning to think twice about their relationship with Twitter, not just because of ads. For example, when a false Eli Lilly account posted that insulin was free, the stock prices fell 4.37% This impact makes companies second-guess everything from advertising to general usage.
A recent Inc. article argues that companies should temporarily halt Twitter usage to protect their brand, retain their talent, and support their customers. However, Michael Wall, a marketing expert from Olin Business School, urges all companies to “closely monitor the situation to minimize risk to their brands.”
Wall noted that while corporate entities may find it challenging to desert Twitter if the platform represents an integral mode of communication for the organization, “if alterations take place that steers a company towards disengaging from the network, I believe they can still attain their goals via other channels.”
Marketing efforts must achieve a company’s corporate objectives, like making money, recruiting and keeping great employees, impressing investors, and establishing the business as an expert in its field with a strong reputation. If it's not achieved on a specific social media platform, it might signal that it's time to move on.
How to Delete Your Twitter Account Wrap-up
Deleting your Twitter account is a significant decision for an individual, let alone a business. Consider your brand's current climate and implications before anything is permanently deleted. There is no right or wrong answer, but weighing the pros and cons is vital.
While some people may permanently delete their Twitter accounts with the new changes, it's important to remember that there is no one-size-fits-all answer. Consider other broad-sweeping implications for your marketing efforts, website, or rankings within the major search engines.